Orson Scott Card

May 25, 2009 at 4:12 am (Uncategorized)

It’s sad to see that the Author of my FAVORITE book of all time, and don’t get me wrong, my ABSOLUTE FAVORITE book, is completely insane.  I could read Ender’s Game every day of my life and never get bored of it.  It has such a powerful story, the event that play out are so brutal, and all of it is happening to a Child.  It isn’t ruined by a love story, it doesn’t pull punches, it’s political, it’s psychological.  Ender is pushed beyond his limits so far that he, by the end, is a broken shell of a human, and he’s only 12 years old.  

And yet, whenever I read it from now on, I think of the man who wrote it.  Who wrote an entire SERIES of said books, each as successful as a stand-alone novel as it is part of a series.  And now it has come to my attention, that the man who wrote them, is a right-wing extremist.

How long before married people answer the dictators thus: Regardless of law, marriage has only one definition, and any government that attempts to change it is my mortal enemy. I will act to destroy that government and bring it down, so it can be replaced with a government that will respect and support marriage, and help me raise my children in a society where they will expect to marry in their turn.  …the American government cannot fight against marriage and hope to endure. If the Constitution is defined in such a way as to destroy the privileged position of marriage, it is that insane Constitution, not marriage, that will die.

To say things that are essentially like, “I will destroy a Government that doesn’t think like I think” is… That’s crazy talk.  If you live in a Democracy, expect your ideas to differ with the ideas of the rest of the people.  We are not “Buggers.”  We do not all share the same mind and act in perfect unison.  You even said it in your book, Orson!  Humans are each individuals, capable of their own thoughts, their own reactions, their own emotions, and their own choices.  

The Constitution was written with the intent of being interpreted in its own way by anyone who read it.  It laid down some ground rules, but did not dictate the thoughts or actions of its citizens.  If you define something in the Constitution, you essentially destroy the point of the Constitution.  In this document, when you hold something down to a select meaning, you are, in essence, destroying the freedom of interpretation that this country was based on.  You are destroying everything our founding fathers wanted.  

That’s like defining the official religion of America, or the official language.  People might not like it when we can’t understand someone, but they have every right to speak their own language as long as they’re legally allowed to be in the country.  People, including myself, might not like anything to do with religion and see it as a plague on society and the cause of most wars, but I’m not going to destroy the government who allows it to be legal.  If I were to go on record saying “The United States has allowed people to chose their religion for too long.  There is one religion, and that is no religion.  Either we can amend the Constitution to say this, or I will lead an army of Atheists to tear our leaders down and replace them with those who think exactly as I do.”  then look at me!  I’m a Terrorist!  But I’m not saying that, nor would I, no matter how much I would like to.  Why?  Because I’m a fan of freedom.  Unlike Mr. Card.

Laws against homosexual behavior should remain on the books, not to be indiscriminately enforced against anyone who happens to be caught violating them, but to be used when necessary to send a clear message that those who flagrantly violate society’s regulation of sexual behavior cannot be permitted to remain as acceptable, equal citizens within that society.”

I don’t like it when gay people hit on me either, but that’s not grounds for me to create a law that would punish this man and send him to prison.  If I were going to do this, I would punish Panhandlers and those Mormons who go door to door soliciting Religion that frankly, I don’t want.  There is a law, in fact, against Disturbing the peace.  And what are these people doing?  They are disturbing the peace.

I could go on.  But I’m so displeased, that I don’t feel like getting myself any more worked up.  I like to end rants on a humorous note, so I’ll quote one John Scalzi:

“[Card] brings the economy-sized jug of crazy sauce to the same-sex marriage discussion.”

Ender’s Game is the Best Book ever written, but Orson Scott Card was not worthy of writing it.

Leave a Reply

